"In 2017, Ad Results Media tracked the results of host-read ads placed in four categories — podcasts, national radio, satellite, local radio — and learned that podcasts are now the most highly performing category of audio advertising."
"Advertisers now spend more than in radio advertising. As podcasts audiences continue to grow, Ad Results Media has seen rates for podcast ads go up as much as 4,000 percent proportionally. And according to audioBoom, 93 percent of companies/brands have increased their advertising spend from 2016 to 2017"
WeTransfer
Masterclass
Skillshare
Linkedin Learning
Canvaspeople
artbeat Studios
zenfolio
KEH Camera
The Great Courses
iRoam
Hiscox
Harry's
GraphicStock
videoblocks
Creative Live
audible
Udemy
Animoto
Acronis
shutterstock
Jimdo
Format.com
Squarespace
lynda.com
fracture
Extrasensory Devices
Portfoliobox
Duggal
Valerie Jardin
Ibarionex Perello
David DuChemin
Sonny Portacio
Philip Briggs
Martin Bailey
Gabo
Bob Levitus
Don Komarechka
Jon Miller
Robin Preston
Steven Sasson
John Nack
Randal L. Schwarz
Podcast advertising is priced by CPM ("cost per mille" = cost per 1000 listeners).
The CPM will vary depending on the show, the topic and the type of selected spot (pre-roll or mid-roll) or extras.
A good ball-park figure for a CPM is a range of $15 to $60.
Please inquire for pricing details regarding our productions.
Example: 5000 listeners, pre-roll + mid-roll
CPM: $15 (pre-roll)
CPM: $30 (mid-roll)
Price per episode: (15 + 30) x 5 = $225
Example: 10,000 listeners, only mid-roll
CPM: $40 (mid-roll)
Price per episode: 40 x 10 = $400
Example: 20,000 listeners, pre-roll only
CPM: $325 (pre-roll)
Price per episode: 25 * 20 = $500
To make a podcast sponsorship work well for both, the advertiser and the podcaster, here are some points and best practices that have emerged in over 12 years of producing online content.
Our main goal is to make this a relationship that works well for all involved parties: the advertiser, the audience and the podcaster. The audience should always benefit in some way from an ad.
The advertised product or service needs to be relevant to the audience.
The sponsorship should provide additional benefit for the audience beyond the introduction to a service or a product.
A sponsorship can go beyond podcast ads. It could for example involve a teaching or speaking engagement or a customized video production.
Ads on our shows will always be marked as such. There are no hidden product placements. If we receive a free product for evaluation, we will fully disclose that.
Here are some best practices for the advertiser:
1. Use a campaign-specific landing page.
2. Make the landing page URL as simple as possible: a) easy to say for the host and b) easy to remember for the audience. (yourdomain.com/topfloor is a great starting point). The landing allows you to track audience engagement.
3. Provide a discount code. Our role is to get an audience interested in your product/service and bring them to your landing page. You want to convert those visitor into customers. A podcast-specific discount code will raise the conversion rate. Code "topfloor" has worked well in the past. The discount code allows you to track conversions.